“24 Works on Paper” Exhibition Stops in Tulsa

Exhibition featuring Oklahoma artists travel the state for a full year

24works-lrJune 6 – June 28, 2014
Opening Reception June 6, 2014, 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

24 Works on Paper, a traveling exhibition of work by living Oklahoma artists, will open to the public on June 6 from 6pm to 9pm at the Tulsa Artists’ Coalition Gallery at 9 East M. B. Brady. Produced as a collaboration between Individual Artists of Oklahoma (IAO) and the Oklahoma Visual Arts Coalition (OVAC), the exhibition is traveling the state for a full year, bringing original, contemporary Oklahoman artwork to viewers in communities large and small.

The 24 Works on Paper exhibition features 24 artworks created on paper, including media such as printmaking, drawing, painting and photography. The 2013 guest juror is Kirsten Olds, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Art History at the University of Tulsa. Olds’ research focuses on artists’ groups in the 1970s and the networks they forged as alternatives to mainstream institutions such as the art gallery, mass circulation journal, and network television.

The exhibition will continue at the Tulsa Artists’ Coalition Gallery through June 28, 2014. Gallery hours are 6pm to 9pm Thursday, Fridays and Saturdays. Other venues on the tour across Oklahoma include the the Goddard Center in Ardmore, Ponca City Art Center, East Central University in Ada, and the Leslie Powell Foundation & Gallery in Lawton. More information is available at www.24works.org or at 405-232-6060 or www.tacgallery.org.

24 Works on Paper is sponsored in part by Allied Arts, Oklahoma Arts Council, Red River Photo Services, and Toothbrusher’s Dental. In-kind services provided by Pirate’s Alley Framing.

 

PuapuagaSaumo_Alofa-lr

Puapuaga Saumo, Alofa

M.J. Alexander, Oklahoma City, www.mjalexander.com
Marilyn Artus, Oklahoma City, www.marilynartus.com
Deborah Burian, Oklahoma City
Zach Burns, Oklahoma City, www.zchbrns.com
Marsha Gulick, Hominy, www.osagegypsy.com
Eyakem Gulilat, Norman, www.eyakem.com
Jeff Hogue, Bartlesville, www.jeffhogueart.com
Marcus Kesler, Edmond, www.marcuskesler.com
David Knox, Oklahoma City, www.knoxphoto.com
Michael Litzau, Edmond, www.michaellitzau.com
Traci Martin, Ardmore, www.tracimartinstudios.com
Bobby C. Martin, Tahlequah, www.bobbycmartin.com
Brandon Mitts, Stillwater, www.brandonmitts.com
Eric Piper, Norman, www.ericpiper.com
Saumo Puapuaga, Oklahoma City
Laura Reese, Norman, www.laurareese.net
Amy Rockett-Todd, Tulsa, www.rocketttodd.com
Clarissa Sharp, Oklahoma City, www.clarissasharp.blogspot.com
Cathryn Wallace Thomas, Tulsa, www.cathrynthomasceramics.com
Thomas Tucker, Edmond, www.thomasrtucker.com
Elizabeth Vuong, Tulsa, www.elizabethvuong.com
Crystal Walters, Pryor
Blair Waltman, Oklahoma City, www.the-f-stops-here.blogspot.com
Betty Wood, Norman

 

ThomasCathryn_Torn-lr

Thomas Cathryn, Torn

July 12-August 3, 2013: Individual Artists of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City
August 5-September 27, 2013: Redlands Community College, El Reno
September 27-November 25, 2013: Goddard Center, Ardmore
November 25, 2013-January 4, 2014: Ponca City Art Center, Ponca City
January 4-February 9, 2014: Northern Oklahoma College, Tonkawa
February 9-March 21, 2014: East Central University, Ada
March 28-April 28, 2014: Graceful Arts Gallery and Studios, Alva
May 31-June 28, 2014: Tulsa Artists’ Coalition, Tulsa
June 28-August 25, 2014: Oklahoma State University Gardiner Gallery, Stillwater
August 25-October 27, 2014: University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, Chickasha
October 27, 2014-January 2015: Leslie Powell Foundation & Gallery, Lawton

24works-hz